top of page

Monologue: 2nd Place Winner "On the Loose"

Well, I’ve made it this far. What direction should I take next? I can’t go back, or can I? Should I? I don’t know what’s ahead, but it feels okay right here while I make up my mind. Good things come to those who wait. Some may say that I’m crazy, talking to myself. I’m glad that no one can hear me. It does feel kinda lonely though. But, I decided to have this personal chat to organize my thoughts. I needed to take a break anyway. I just couldn’t keep running away like that. Hell no. It gets tiring after a while. Fake it ‘til you make it, how ironic is that? I may have deceived many, but I know what I did, and I can’t escape from that unless I pretend that nothing was real, that I imagined everything. Pretending hasn’t been so hard for me. After all, I have what they call a histrionic personality. Blaming society is another choice for sure. I’m still angry, I won’t deny that. What good is life if one can’t be free from expectations? All these idiots want answers. They foolishly believe that everything happens for a reason, that there’s a cause for every effect. But, we live in this world where there is not a cure for everything, not yet anyway. So, we go around controlling and punishing others for not being different from what they are. The justice system, what an oxymoron! Is there such thing as justice? Who can really judge us? Some turn to God for explanations. God! What, or who, is that? God works in mysterious ways, they claim. But, if what we have heard from history is true, God has his own share of misdeeds. Oh, but excuse me, God is perfect, God doesn’t make mistakes. I can’t understand how we are created to God’s image. What does that even mean? If God really exists, why do so many tragic things happen? Nah... Don’t ask me to believe that whole myth about the judgment day either. After thousands of years in this planet, people still can’t reconcile their beliefs about what’s good or bad. It changes all the time. And now they are coming after me as if I owed them something. I did the best I could with what I had and what I knew. Even my family has turned against me, the ungrateful. I gave them everything. I made them who they are. They were born, grew up, ate, had a home, nice clothes, went to school, had a job, and traveled thanks to me. But, more importantly, I guided them. Let’s wait and see what they can do without me. Did I do those things I’m accused of? Of course, I did, but I’m human. It’s part of life. We all have tendencies and act on our own behalf. We are all selfish. We live and die alone. Though, not in all cases. Sometimes many people die at once. Hey, what do you know, as cold as that may sound, it may be the best idea. We should all die at once and get it over with. Let’s blame it on God along the way. There’s nothing good to save. Or is there? Can I come up with something worth rescuing? I’m used to simply get rid of anything and anyone that gets in my way. You can’t teach an old dog new tricks, or can I? Perhaps that’s what I should do? I should get me a dog and teach him something. I bet it’d be more loyal and more competent than all these other scumbags who are after me. Oh, time to go. Gotta keep running.


Featured
bottom of page