top of page

Monologue: 1st Place Winner "Death of Mercy"

What have I done? Mercy, a crime worse than death, for it is only rewarded with lifelong regret. Since I was given the honor of becoming a knight, I strived to become perfect, both with the blade and as a moral role model. There is no honor in killing someone who has surrendered. I had Ander’s throat against my blade. I thought I would be praised and that the gods would reward me for my mercy. People say the gods died with the giants, perhaps they were right.

There is a blurred line between a mongrel and a knight; we both kill in battle and do what needs to be done to win the war. I thought the line between us was honor and mercy. Now I know there are no rules to war. Killing is killing. Death is death.

Norell is dead! Though it was Ander’s blade that slit her throat, it was my mercy that guided his hand. A fool and a coward. Instead of running I should have killed him! Coward. Coward! Coward! Damn honor! If I killed Ander when he lay helpless in the mud, Norell would be alive. I granted Ander life in prison, but when he escaped…

My true friend. I had a chance to save her. Morals be damned! They will all die! The mongrels will pay for taking her from me! I will kill them… kill them. Kill everyone who is responsible for her death. The mongrels for waging war, my captain for ordering us into a battle we were destined to lose, Ander…. I am the one to blame. I killed Norell! My inaction and righteousness were just as responsible as any of them. Perhaps…death is the only cure to my suffering.

Coward! Why must I run from death? I suppose vengeance is now my only comfort. I will make Ander suffer as I do now. I will bathe in their blood, and perhaps, when it is all over, I will have the courage to bathe in mine.


Featured
bottom of page